Tim Henman became the captain of Great Britain in the United Cup

Tim Henman became the captain of Great Britain in the United Cup

Tim Henman

Tim Henman will captain Great Britain in the inaugural edition of the United Cup, a new annual mixed team event, which will be held in three Australian cities – Brisbane, Perth and Sydney.

Henman captains a British team that includes 2021 Indian Wells champion Cameron Norrie as well as Daniel Evans and Harriet Dart.

Henman’s playing credentials include This includes reaching the semi-finals of Wimbledon in 1998, the first English player to achieve this feat in 25 years. The former British No. 1 advanced to three more semi-finals at the championships in 1999, 2001 and 2002.

The tournament will begin on December 29, 2022 and will serve as the season-opening event for both the ATP and WTA.

Former world number 1 Leighton Hewitt and former world number 4 Samantha Stosur will co-lead the Australian team.

In Group D, Australia will play host to Spain and Great Britain in Sydney. Stosur is one of the captains participating in this year’s United Cup.

Agnieszka Radwanska will lead Poland, led by 2021 Miami Masters 1000 champion Hubert Hurkach and Iga Switek, to two Roland Garros titles in 2020 and 2022 and a US Open title in 2022.

2011 Australian Open doubles champion and former world number one Gisela Dulco is Argentina, drawn in Group F along with Croatia and France.

The Croatian team will be led by 2022 Cincinnati Masters 1000 champion Borna Coric and Donna Vkic on court and former world No. 4 Eva Majali.

Former world number three doubles player Marc Lopez leads a strong Spanish team that includes 22-time Grand Slam champion Rafael Nadal, Paula Badosa, Pablo Carreno Busta and Albert Ramos Vinolas, as well as 2021 Indian Wells champion Paula Badosa.

Italy’s 2021 Wimbledon finalist Matteo Berretini, this year’s Hamburg and Naples champion Lorenzo Musetti and this year’s Roland Garros semi-finalist Martina Trevisa will skipper Vincenzo Santopadre.

The French team will be led by Grand Slam doubles champion Edouard Roger Vaslin and will be joined by 2022 WTA Finals champion Caroline Garcia, Alize Cornet, Arthur Rinderknecht and Adrian Mannarino.

Stan Wawrinka leads the Swiss team, which also includes Marc-Andrea Hussler and next-gen Dominic Stricker.

The playing captains are Kazakhstan’s Alexander Bublik, Bulgaria’s Grigor Dimitrov and Belgium’s Kirsten Flippens.

Read more: No surprises in Australian Open men’s singles entry list


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.